#Cooking

Fish Biriyani

blog biriyani 2

We invited a few friends over two weeks ago, but forgot that it was Ramadan. For those of you who are not from Kuwait, this means no restaurants will deliver food until after 3 PM.

So time to figure out what to make! One of our friends only eats fish so I had to figure out a dish that he would also be able to enjoy. As I looked through my freezer I had some cut pieces of fish and had an idea of a fish biriyani. A biryani is a mixed rice dish with spiced chicken, fish, or mutton added to it. My favorite is Mutton Biriyani. I love eating that spicy mutton that has been slow cooked in the gravy and then layered onto the rice. Just describing this is making my mouth water! I have been thinking of making this for a while, but then always passed up on the idea because a biriyani seems intimidating. Since we had some time and also the friends that were coming were of the forgiving kind if the food didn’t taste well, I thought I’d give it a try!

I started looking up different recipes, and found one through the website Kurry Leaves.

I pretty much did what the steps asked, but I used about 5 sliced onions, 1 head of garlic , ginger that was around 3 inches long, and 2 tomatoes.  Also I added more spices since I had more onions and used around 12 sliced fish pieces. Since I had a bigger onion masala mixture, I also ended up using 1 whole can of coconut milk. I added the fish and covered it with the onion mixture.

Then I took my rice that was already prepared and cooled and put half of the rice at the bottom of a Pyrex casserole dish (I think it was the 3 quart size), Added the fish with masala, some chopped mint and cilantro leaves, and a little bit of melted butter. Then I topped it off with the remaining rice, added some more mint and cilantro leaves and finished it off with some more melted butter. I covered this with foil and baked it at 350°F for 20 minutes. I did not add any of the nuts, raisins or friend onions because I’m not a fan of that, but if you would like you can add that!

You can serve this with some raita (yogurt salad), papadum, and some spicy pickle if you like!

Blog Biriyani

5 thoughts on “Fish Biriyani”

  1. The fish biryani sounds super tasty and it definitely looks mouth watering.
    When are you inviting us? We are “easy to please” friends 😜😜
    By the way what fish did you use for this biryani and would you say fish biryani is easier to make than a chicken / mutton biryani ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

